Click here to read ICSR’s latest report Far From Gone: The Evolution of Extremism in the First 100 Days of the Biden Administration

GNET Event – First Annual GNET Conference, May 26th

GNET Event – First Annual GNET Conference, May 26th
10th May 2021 ICSR Team
In Conferences

We are delighted to announce that ICSR will be hosting the First Annual GNET Conference, taking place online on Wednesday May 26th. A series of five panels will be held across the day, representing and reaching out to a truly global research network.

You can find more information on the confirmed speakers and sign up for the individual panels below. This conference is free of charge, and attendees are invited to join as many panels as they like.

 

Panel 1 – Violent Extremist Pop Culture: Games, Memes and Slurs
4am BST / 11pm EDT (-1) / 1pm AEST

Welcoming words from Nicholas Rasmussen, Executive Director of the Global Internet Forum to Counter Terrorism (GIFCT)

Welcoming words from Dr Shiraz Maher, Executive Director of the Global Network on Extremism and Technology (GNET)

Panelists:

  • Dr Ashley Mattheis, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (chair)
  • Galen Lamphere-Englund, Love Frankie
  • Ross Frenett, Moonshot
  • Dr Chamila Liyanage, Centre for Analysis of the Radical Right
  • Amy Lee, Storyful

Register here to attend Panel 1

 

Panel 2 – Ideologically Motivated Violent Extremists and Conspiracy
11am BST / 6am EDT / 8pm AEST

Panelists:

  • Dr Eviane Leidig, International Centre for Counter-Terrorism (ICCT) (chair)
  • Munira Mustaffa, Verve Research
  • Nazneen Mohsina, S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies (RSIS)
  • Dr William Allchorn, Centre for Analysis of the Radical Right

Register here to attend Panel 2

 

Panel 3 – Violent Extremist Organisations & Their Responses to COVID-19
2pm BST / 9am EDT / 11pm AEST

Panelists:
  • Audrey Alexander, Combating Terrorism Center at West Point (chair)
  • Marc-André Argentino, International Centre for the Study of Radicalisation (ICSR)
  • Dr Michael Loadenthal, University of Cincinnati
  • Chelsea Daymon, American University School of Public Affairs
  • Tabitha Mwangi, University of Geneva

Register here to attend Panel 3

 

Panel 4 – Researcher Ethics & Safety
7pm BST / 2pm EDT / 4am AEST (+1)

Introduction to the Terrorist Content Analytics Platform (TCAP) by Anne Craanen, Tech Against Terrorism

Panelists:

  • Peter King, IbexMind (chair)
  • Dr Maura Conway, Dublin City University
  • Dr Alexis Henshaw, Troy University
  • Dr Michael Krona, Malmö University
  • Meili Criezis, Polarization & Extremism Research & Innovation Laboratory (PERIL)

Register here to attend Panel 4

 

Panel 5 – Future Forecasting: Violent Extremist Threats
11pm BST / 6pm EDT / 8am AEST (+1)

Panelists:

  • Dr Erin Saltman, Global Internet Forum to Counter Terrorism (GIFCT) (chair)
  • Dr Alexandra Phelan, Monash University
  • Dr Amarnath Amarasingam, Queen’s University
  • Lawrence Muli, Facebook
  • Jon Lewis, Program on Extremism

Register here to attend Panel 5

Want to stay updated about ICSR’s work? Sign up to our mailing list here.